British Guild of Beer Writers

(L-R) Richard Davies and Mark CharlwoodMartyn Cornell picked up the SA Gold award for ‘Best Use of Online Media’ at the British Guild of Beer Writers Awards Dinner 2011.

The awards seek to find the very best of beer writing and journalism in the UK. Martyn, who wasn’t able to make the awards, won for his work on his ‘Zythophile’ blog, while Mark Charlwood (pictured with Richard Davies of Brains) took the runner-up award for his ‘BeerBirraBier’ blog.

Ben McFarland was named ‘Beer Writer of the Year’. Other winners included Mark Dredge for beer and food writing, and Marverine Cole, for her regional television work.

Judges this year were: Simon Jenkins, winner of the 2010 Beer Writer of the Year title; Fiona Matthias, executive editor of The Sunday Telegraph; Martin Ross, journalist, writer and home brewer; Martin Kellaway, founder of Wharfebank Brewery in Leeds and Joanna Copestick, who has commissioned and published a number of books about beer.

Simon Jenkins said: "These awards celebrate the very best in British beer writing. The scope, scale and variety of the work created by the winners is astonishing, and show that writing about our national drink is now being treated very seriously indeed."

More than 230 journalists, brewers and pub operators attended the dinner at the London Riverside Park Plaza. The British Guild of Beer Writers was established in 1988 to help spread the word about beer and brewing and improve standards of beer writing in general. Today the Guild has more than 150 members – to find out more go to